January 2016 Plans [Month in Review]

Can you believe that January 2016 is already in the books?  Getting sick in January really slowed me down.  Here’s what did and did not happen:

Food:

  • make cookies, muffins, taco meat, pizza sauce, and spaghetti sauce for the freezer.  I made muffins, taco meat, sloppy joes, and meatloaf.
  • eat from the freezer to make room for the above.  We have a gazillion pounds of soup in there.  We’ll have soup at least once a week to thin it out.  When I got sick we used up some freezer items.  We did eat some soup and I gave some away to my mom.
  • begin shopping for a 3 month supply of groceries (will share my list/plan soon) You can see my plan here.  I purchased lots of pasta, canned tomato sauce, and water in January.
Finance:
  • iron out 1st quarter budget.  Decide what envelopes (sinking funds) we are going to fill for January.  This remains a work in progress.  We had a few things pop up and adjustments need to be made. 
  • look for savings in the following areas- insurance (vehicle), cell phones, cable (not ready to “cut the cord” but I know researching our options will take time.)  Still a work in progress.  We did agree to go ahead and order an HD Antenna which I will take from Februarys budget.
  • start gathering yard sale items from around the house.  I did put some things aside.

Family/Fun:

  • plan two family days (one trip to the Children’s Museum and a trip to the new library?)  Didn’t happen.  Darn pneumonia!
  • plan two date nights (Done! we are going to a 40th birthday party and have plans to go out with my brother and SIL)  We just went out last night.  So 50/50!
  • read two books (I am almost finished with Dark Places and have a huge stack of books waiting for me)  I actually read 3!  Lots of time resting in bed.
  • start our 2016 Project Life family album.  Nope. Sad face.
Fitness:
  • drink 8 glasses of water a day and manage my diet better.  I did a little better.
  • exercise at least 4 days a week (I have an exercise bike- I want to find some free videos for cardio on YouTube or via the library to use as well.  If weather permits I will also walk.)  I started off strong and actually lost 5 pounds.  Can’t wait to feel better and get back to this!
Home:
  • try one Pinterest Project.  I am hoping to make a quick apron to gift someone should it turn out well.  Nope.
  • work on setting a better daily schedule.  and…..nope.

Hoping for a more productive February. How was everyone else’s January? Did you accomplish all you wanted to?

One thought on “January 2016 Plans [Month in Review]

Leave a Reply

