Month in Review [February 2016]

 

Good Morning!  It is going to be a beautiful week here in Rhode Island for the month of March.  I am craving the warm spring weather!  Before we move forward how about a peek at what did and did not happen in February?

Food:

  • make cookies, pizza sauce, and spaghetti sauce for the freezer. I didn’t get to pizza sauce or cookies.  I did make spaghetti sauce though and it is delicious.  Perfect for sneaking in veggies to picky eaters.  You can find the recipe here.
  • try 2 new recipes: Taco Pasta Casserole and Green Chili Rice Casserole.  Both are freezer friendly. I did make both of these.  The Green Chile Rice (recipe) was great and my boys both raved about the Taco Pasta Casserole (recipe) too. 
  • Clean out the freezer above the fridge.  Use up all odds and ends.  Once finished move on to the upright freezer downstairs.  Defrost the upright freezer. We were able to clear out the freezer above the fridge and I cleaned out and rearranged the upright freezer.  I did not defrost it yet.  There is just too much soup still. 
Finance:
  • continue to research savings in any areas we can.  Specifically cellphones, vehicle insurance, etc. We made a stop at our cellphone provider.  After some review it turns out we have a better plan than they currently offer.  Once the payment for the phones are paid (there are 3 more)  we will see our bill come down $60.00.  We’ve decided that this is satisfactory for us at present. 
  • take a look at my credit card points and see if we can use them to purchase some gift cards to use for upcoming birthdays.    We decided to hold out using these until Christmas.  Money is usually tighter at that time of year.
  • January had an extra pay period so we are trying to figure out how to allocate that money.  We will pay off one credit card for certain. I am about to pay off one credit card today (I had to wait for the updated bill.)  Woohoo!  The rest of the money is going to go to paying a medical bill and car tax.  I will also use some to purchase some spring clothes for myself.  I haven’t bought myself spring clothes in years and I need a wardrobe beyond yoga pants.
Family/Fun:
  • We have a family fun day planned for the science museum (free admission) as well as going to see Star Wars.  I will bring snacks and drinks from home on both adventures.
  • Have 2 stay at home dates with my husband.  There are several movies available at Redbox we would like to see.  I am hoping I can find a code to get them for free.
  • February school break is coming up.  I found out there are 2 science shows at a local mall for free.  My mom has offered babysitting for the little one so I can take my 5 year old.  I will be researching other fun and free activities this week.
Fitness:
  • continue to exercise at least 4 days a week.  I had done pretty well with this until I got ill in January. I did  better in February.  I really enjoy walking and now that it is warming up a little it should be easier to make it happen.
  • drink more water.  I have no excuse. I did a little better.  Not great though….
Home:
  • clean and organize the storage cabinet in the 1/2 bath where my husband and I keep all of our toiletries. I didn’t get to this yet.
  • purchase new pillows for our bed. I was able to get two pillows on sale at Target for 25% off! 
  • purchase new shades for our bedroom if I can catch a great sale.  I ordered the shades from JC Penney at 50% off plus free shipping.  The only issue is that they won’t arrive until May.  I figure we can wait since we’ve lived with out them for this long. 
  • spend some time cleaning out the basement storage area.  It got really messy over the holidays.  I need to make room for more shelving to hold pantry supplies.  I made some headway with this.  I cleaned up quite a bit and ordered the shelves. 

So there you have it- another month in the books.  I hope you had a great February.  I know I am excited to see what March brings!

Leave a Reply

